KINDLE Birdie and Me

R stoic stern Uncle Patrick but they d much rather live with their Uncle Carl Most of all they wish they could have their fun Mama back with her Wolf Days and creative games When Birdie is bullied for his

clothing choices uncle 
choices Uncle Forces Him To Wear Regular Boy forces him to wear regular boy so he can just fit in Janet a teen wanna be hairdresser is Jack s best friend and part of a loose support system Jack and Birdie rely on Jack feels a bit like an island lonely and alone in her personal struggles But if she finds others who feel similarly can they rely on each other and not be so alone Jack s notes from her observation journal sometimes in free verse sometimes in lists are a highlight of this book a window into Jack s fears worries and hopes With charming characters who jump off the page and a beautiful sibling relationship this one will definitely be a hit with the right id Grades 3 7 This book was recommended by my boss at Sundance Books Music and it didn t disappoint After their mother dies suddenly siblings Birdie and Jack must leave home to live with their uncles When sweet Uncle Carl proves unreliable gruff Uncle Patrick takes over A practical stranger Patrick struggles to understand gender non conforming Birdie and introspective Jack and they him As the whole family copes with loss Birdie and Jack somehow remember how the ordinary can be extraordinary how relationships can be lost and found and how they can each find a place in the world Delicate moments heavy with meaning are left for the reader to discover and when they are found they ll stay with readers long past the last page God I don t even now what to say right now I related to this in ways I never expected and it made me remember experiences and feelings I had in my childhood that I hadn t thought about in years It feels like it was written for me so it s hard for me to give Birdie And Me a proper review But maybe that speaks to the book than any review ever could Also gender creativity is so so beautiful Pick up your copy on February 18 2020 You won t want to miss thi. Aracters that soar off the page J M M Nuanez's debut novel depicts an unlikely family caught in a situation none of them would have chosen and the beautiful ways in which they finally come to understand one another. I really loved this book A story about how girl Jack navigates grief with her gender creative little brother after their mother grief with her gender creative little brother after their mother This book navigates grief and identify by facing the scary parts and embracing moments of joy that connect us Reading this book is a reminder that person is an island and even if they are they are at least an archipelago As a ueer person I can be really protective of ueer stories especially when not told by a person if the identity the story is about Thi Oh I really really liked this book Jack s voice is amazing and Birdie is just the cutest little id I love every character in this book especially Patrick I m giving this book five stars even though I usually reserve that for books that made me cry I didn t cry but I can just tell that I ll be thinking of all of these characters for a long timeOh and it s a debut author I cannot wait to read Birdie and Jack s story was incredibly moving We see them trying to adapt to a new environment as they navigate a world full of negativity Jack s words have a way of encapsulating the reader and then transporting them to the world of Nowhere Northern a way of encapsulating the reader and then transporting them to the world of Nowhere Northern I truly love the way that the characters are written It s amazing how I could find a little bit of myself in each character Jack is strong willed and independent Birdie is light sparkly and totally heartwarming These siblings captured my heartAnyone that reads this book will come out of the experience with a open mind heart and soul The book accomplishes the feat of appealing to a vast audience to share a very impactful message This tenderhearted story is of Jack and Birdie two siblings who recently lost their mother Jack is the mature older sister always seeking to protect her little brother And this is particularly the case since Birdie tends to be bullied due to his creative colorful clothing After their mother dies they are sent to live with their Uncle Carl who loves them deeply But one day his ability to properly care for them is uestioned and so they re eventually sent to live with their A stunning debut about a girl named Jack and her gender creative little brother Birdie searching for the place where they can be their true and best selvesAfter their mama dies Jack and Birdie find themselves witho.

J.M.M. Nuanez õ 9 characters

Ncle Patrick They now practically nothing about Patrick except how gruff he seems But sometimes it s important to peel back the emotional onion layers and see than what s visible on the surface This is a story that addresses a wide variety of family dynamics including uestions about transgender behaviors and feelings it also addresses bullying behaviors and feelings It also addresses bullying and mental health I would anticipate mostly older middle graders or younger mature middle grade readers to appreciate this emotional story but there s plenty here for the YA crowd to discuss as s plenty here for the YA crowd to discuss as children s lit middle grade lit and YA lit reviews feel free to visit my personal blog at The Miller Memo Birdie and Jack are siblings who have to move in with their uncle after their mother s sudden death The new scenery and people in their life throw them through a loop but also pulls them out of their comfort zones But when Birdie is bullied for being gender fluid and their uncle doesn t stand up for them it s the last straw This was SUCH a good book The overarching themes of discovering yourself and your place in the world as well as family and support aren t exactly new but Nuanez handles them with a gentle and empathetic hand making Jack and Birdie come to life Fans of Kate Dicamillo Ann M Martin and Dan Gemeinhart will find something of great value in this novel After their mother dies Jack and her little brother Birdie are sent to live with their uncles but Uncle Carl isn t reliable and Uncle Patrick doesn t like Birdie s purple jacket skirts and rainbow leggings All Jack wants is somewhere they can both live as themselves This book doesn t just have heart it IS heart I couldn t put it down needing to see how their story evolved and watch the complexities of their family unfold while loving the fierce devotion between brother and sister Ideal for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt Holly Goldberg Sloan and Lily and Dunkin I can t remember the last time I loved a debut book this much Thank you jmmnuanezJack and her gender creative little brother Birdie have to move in with thei. Ut a place to call home And when Mama's two brothers each try to provide one first sweet Uncle Carl then gruff Uncle Patrick the results are funny tender and tragicThey're also somehow spectacularWith voices and ch. ,

Birdie and Me